Onyx

Where Does It Live?

Welcome back to the children’s last term in year 3.  We hope you had a restful half term break.  

This term, our topic has a focus on science, with the topic title “Where does it live?”  During this topic we will be learning all about the different habitats that animals live in from local habitats to world habitats.  We will be observing animals in microhabitats in the local environment and learning all about food chains.   

PE will continue to be on a Monday and Friday so please come dressed for PE on those days.   

Please continue to read at home regularly, and practice times tables.  

Home Learning

Wednesday 30th June

Thursday 1st July

Friday 2nd July

Monday 5th July

Take one picture?

Welcome back to our Summer term.  We hope you had a wonderful and restful Easter break.   

This term, our topic has a focus on art and design, with the topic title “Take One Picture?”  During this topic we will be studying Andy Goldsworthy and exploring how the natural environment can be used to create art and sculpture.  We will take a broader look at the natural environment around the world and read a range of texts linked to our environment.   In writing, we will learning how to write a persuasive letter to encourage people to recycle. 

PE will continue to be on a Monday and Friday so please come dressed for PE on those days.   

Please remember to read at home and practice times tables. 

 

Spring Term 4

Human and Physical Geography

This term we are going to be learning about where we live and finding out about some of the physical and human features of the surrounding landscape. We will learn about the different counties which make up England and look at how the landscape differs in other parts of the country. We will also compare England to other countries, finding out about some of the similarities and differences in the landscape, as well as learning about some of their traditions and ways of life. 

P.E. will continue to happen on a Monday and a Friday so please come into school wearing your sports kit on these days.

Lockdown Learning Spring 2021

Week 2 (1.3.21-5.3.21)

Friday 5th March
Thursday 4th March

Wednesday 3rd March

Tuesday 2nd March

Monday 1st March

Week 1 (22.2.21-26.2.21)

Friday 26th February
Thursday 25th February

Wednesday 24th February

Tuesday 23rd February

Monday 22nd February

Spring Term 3

Week 6 (8.2.21-12.2.21)

Friday 12th February
Thursday 11th February

Wednesday 10th February

Tuesday 9th February

Monday 8th February

Week 5 (1.2.21-5.2.21)

Friday 5th February

Thursday 4th February

Wednesday 3rd February

Tuesday 2nd February

Monday 1st February

Week 4 (25.1.21-29.1.21)

Friday 29th January

Thursday 28th January

Wednesday 27th January

Tuesday 26th January

Monday 25th January

Week 3 (18.1.21-22.1.21)

Friday 22nd January
Thursday 21st January

Wednesday 20th January

Tuesday 19th January

Monday 18th January

Week 2 (11.1.21-15.1.21)

Friday 15th January
Thursday 14th January
Wednesday 13th January
Tuesday 12th January

Monday 11th January

Week 1 (4.1.21-8.1.21)

Friday 8th January

Thursday 7th January

Wednesday 6th January

To be continued….Spring Term 1

Art and D.T.

Take one picture.

Welcome back and Happy New Year.  We hope you had a wonderful and restful Christmas break.   
 
This term,  our topic title is “Take One Picture” with a focus on Art and Design and Technology.  During this topic we will be studying Andy Goldsworthy and exploring how the natural environment can be used to create art and sculpture.  We will take a broader look at environments around the world and read a range of texts linked to them.   In writing, we will learning how to write a persuasive letter. 
  
PE is back to being on a Monday and Friday so please come dressed for PE on those days.   
 
Please remember to read at home and practice times tables.  

Curriculum map and overview

Homework and chatter topics

Chatter Topics

We try to change books every day…so get reading!

Autumn 2

Amazing Onyx

See what we’ve been up to…

Photos from Autumn Term…

We have been adapting the story of “The Lighthouse Keeper’s lunch” and also read all about lighthouses, their function and their history, in Guided Reading. The children produced these wonderful pictures using oil pastels and then labeled the different parts of a lighthouse.
Wiltshire Cricket have been in school this term, delivering their “Chance to Shine” programme. The children have enjoyed developing their bowling, catching and batting skills.
The children have created some wonderful and very colourful Powerpoint posters using text and images.
Each child in Onyx class made a hanging circle decoration and contributed to transforming our Sunshine Stop into this lovely Tibetan-Style pergola!
The class enjoyed using their artistic talents to create these beautiful butterflies for our Wellbeing display.

Autumn 1

Homework and chatter topics

Wonderful Onyx class

Please check out our welcome video on the Corsham Regis Facebook page!

Mrs Bagnall and Mrs Wicheard are the teachers in Onyx class. We are really looking forward to welcoming you all back this term after our long break from school. Mrs Bagnall will be teaching on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesday mornings and Mrs Wicheard will be teaching on Wednesday afternoons, Thursdays and Fridays. Our teaching assistant will be Mrs Bishop, and she will be in the class each morning.

Key days to remember:

PE – Monday and Friday. (Please come into school wearing your PE kit on these days. You will wear these all day.)

Reading book change over – Friday. (Please ensure you have your reading book and reading records ready for us to change on this day.)

This term the children will be working on a series of sessions designed to support them in sharing and processing their experiences from the lockdown period, as well as gradually reintroducing the learning behaviours that they will need to accelerate their learning back in school.​

During each theme the children will complete work on all areas of the curriculum with an emphasis on the creative arts- look out for our completed projects in the school grounds!​

The children will also be working on their key writing and mathematics skills, through our carefully planned transition and recovery curriculum.