Amethyst

Spring Term 4 

Human and Physical Geography

This term, our topic is Geography [human and physical] and our main question is: What are the significant rivers of the world and why are they important?  So our topic learning will be all about rivers. 

Meanwhile, in Writing, we will be focusing on poetry and some of our reading will link with this too, as well as exploring non-chronological reports. In maths, we will start the term by looking at geometry. 
PE will be on Mondays and Thursdays.

Happy Spring time!

Mrs. Harris, Mrs. Randall and Mrs. Morris

Lockdown Learning Spring 4 2021

Our excellent learning from this week, including World Book Day!

Friday 5th March

Thursday 4th March

Wednesday 3rd March

Week 2 (1.3.21-5.3.21)

Tuesday 2nd March

Monday 1st March

Week 1 (22.2.21-26.2.21)

Friday

Lovely learning from this week:

Thursday

Wednesday

Tuesday

Monday

Monday 22nd February

spring Term 3

Week 6 (8.2.21-12.2.21)

Super learning from this week:

Friday 12th February

Thursday 11th February

Wednesday 10th February

Tuesday 9th February

Monday 8th February

Week 5 (1.2.21-5.2.21)

Some of our fantastic Learning from Week 5

Friday 5th February

Thursday 4th February

Wednesday 3rd February

Tuesday 2nd February

Monday 1st February

Week 4 (25.1.21-29.1.21)

Fantastic Work from Week 4

Friday 29th January

Thursday 28th January

Wednesday 27th January

Tuesday 26th January

Monday 25th January

Week 3 (18.1.21-22.1.21)

A mix of the excellent learning from this week.

Friday 22nd January

Thursday 21st January

Wednesday 20th January

Tuesday 19th January

Monday 18th January

Week 3

Positive thoughts from Ghlex…

These really cheered me up today-thank you Ghlex… Mrs H

I thought you might like to see what Ben has been doing at the Pound Art Club…

Below you can also see a project Hollie is working on, can’t wait to see the finished piece!

And below that you can also see how well I am getting on with teaching myself how to crochet! Will have to try harder! Mrs H

Week 2 (11.1.21-15.1.21)

A mix of super work from this week!

Friday 15th January

Thursday 14th January

Wednesday 13th January

Tuesday 12th January

Monday 11th January

This afternoon the Amethyst pupils in school made these kindness cards. We dedicate them to the rest of Amethyst class who we are missing so much.

Week 1 ( 4.1.21-8.1.21)

Wonderful work this week – thank you Amethyst!

Friday 8th January

Thursday 7th January

Wednesday 6th January

Spring Term 3…to be continued…

Welcome back to 2021. 

Christmas Homework:

This term, our topic is called ‘Take One Picture’, we will be focusing on the question: What is the power of art? We will be learning all about Henri Matisse and his art. It will also link with our writing, in which we will be learning how to write a biography and our reading will also be exploring how biographies are written. 

Maths learning will be tailored to the class’ needs, based on the Pixl tests. And our topic learning in the afternoons will be very arty – painting, sculpting and printing! 

PE will be on Mondays and Wednesdays, so please come dressed for PE on those days.  

Please remember to read at home and practice times tables. 

For our topic learning we will be focusing on the following ten questions:

  1. What is the artist most famous for? 
  1. How did the artist create their work? 
  1. What was the artist’s inspiration? 
  1. What qualities of materials enhance my ideas?   
  1. How do I combine visual and tactile qualities in sculpture?  
  1. How can I use print to create a range of visual elements? 
  1. How can I create original pieces that show a range of influences and styles? 
  1. How can I draw upon ideas from other artists to develop a personal style of painting? 
  1. How can I enhance art, editing with digital media? 
  1. How has the artist influenced my art? 

Spring 3 Homework:

Chatter Topics:

Curriculum Map:

Autumn 2

We had a visit today from Mrs Symons, she came to present some very special badges…

Our eco councillor
Our councillors
And here we have our wonderful Super Sixes. The second batch received their badges today. Here are all 12 of them together-sensational!
A productive first week back! Learning about day and night.
Some great space inspired newspaper articles.
Excellent multi-step problem solving.
Perfectly painted peacock posters!
Amazing homemade Children in Need outfit!
Children in Need comprehension
Children in Need maths problem solving
Some great ICT work, showing all we have learned in Science about space.
Some methodical fractions calculations this week.
Using evidence from a text to answer a question.
Taken a detour to DT!
We have been designing our moving products this week!
Our Christmas craft, ready to be taken home on Monday.
We enjoyed the Santa Dash – 11 laps around the playground. Some children ran 2 miles!

Autumn Term 1